You know you should write, and you have several topics running through your mind, but you just can’t quite get it together—how to start, how to choose the topic, where to start . . . .

Well, you don’t have to go it alone.

Mentored writing.

The 2020 AJN/Nurse Faculty Scholars Mentored Writing Awards program is open for submissions. This is an annual program to promote mentorship and develop scholarly writing skills among nurses. It was conceived by the 2012–2015 cohort of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Nurse Faculty Scholars Program, in honor of the mentorship they received.

This award was created to continue the legacy of mentorship and to support scholarship development for all nurses, and AJN is continuing this program as part of our mission to support excellence in nursing publishing.

The 2019 winner.

The winner of the 2019 award is Sara Wohlford, MPH, RN, from Roanoke, Virginia. She worked with her mentor, Kimberly Ferren Carter, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, to coauthor their winning article, “Nursing Engagement Improves Sustainability Outcomes for Healthcare,” which will be published later this year.

Submitting for 2020.

Submissions go through AJN’s peer review process, and if accepted, will be reviewed by the awards committee chaired by Maja Djukic, PhD, RN, assistant professor, New York University College of Nursing in New York City, and a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholar (2012 – 2015).

Submission for the 2020 awards program is now open until April 1. Details are available here.